Friday, November 27, 2009

Congratulations to Paul Menard, the 2009 FLOPPER

By starting Sunday's race in Homestead, Paul Menard took home the 2009 FLOPPER award.

He follows in the footsteps of legendary drivers like Richard Petty, Dale Jarrett, and Darrell Waltrip, and Harry Gant. Former winners of the award also include Kyle Petty, Sterling Marlin, Ken Schrader, Brett Bodine, and Bobby Hamilton The full list of past winners is here if you click on this link.

Of the 31 drivers who started every race, Menard took home a few titles:
1) The only driver without a top 10
2) The worst starting average (31)
3) The fewest Lead Lap Finishes (12)
4) Of course, scoring the fewest points (2979)

Interestingly enough, Menard was able to improve his finishing position by an average of 4 places over his starting position. That's the second best improvement of all the people on this list. Maybe they just need to get their equipment and qualifying setup better on Fridays.

Special kudos go to AJ Allmendinger, who managed to go the whole year without leading a single lap. Good job not pushing it.

We saw Michael Waltrip finish his fulltime career in 2009, and surprisingly was NEVER able to win a FLOPPER title during his career. He missed races in 3 of the last 4 years, so that's what held him back.

Now the question begins on who will win the FLOPPER in 2010. Anybody have any guesses? Maybe we can do a prize to the first person who comments with next year's correct FLOPPER.

email any comments to